Powerless

Powerless

Childrens, Teen & Young Adult, Teen & Young Adult Fiction
Paperback Published on: 06/07/2023
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Bookseller Reviews

View all
Powerless
I was absolutely hooked, but it could have done with a bit more editing
I had really mixed feelings reading this book, and I've been going back and forth with whether to give it 3 or 4 stars for days! Firstly, this cover is gor... READ MORE
Joanna at St. Neots
Powerless
So bingeable!
A great book to get you out of a slump, honestly I felt like I was transported back to being 14 again and devouring the hunger games & divergent trilogies ... READ MORE
Hattie - Hitchin
Powerless
Stunning debut
This book was sublime from start to finish and such an incredible debut for an author who wrote it at just 18 years of age!! I'm currently in my fantasy er... READ MORE
Rochelle Palin
Powerless
Lives up to the hype
Had to finally pick up a copy of Powerless by Lauren Roberts, and I've got to say it definitely lived up to expectations! It's kinda like hunger games, but... READ MORE
Amy

Synopsis

Only the extraordinary belong in the kingdom of Ilya...

The Elites have possessed powers for decades, gifted to them by the Plague, while those born Ordinary are just that, banished from the kingdom and shunned from society.

No one knows this better than Paedyn Gray, an Ordinary posing as a Psychic to blend in with the Elites. When she unsuspectingly saves one of Ilya's princes, Kai Azer, she's thrown into the Purging Trials, a brutal competition showcasing the Elites' powers.

If the Trials and the opponents within them don't kill her, the prince she's fighting feelings for will if he discovers what Paedyn is... completely Ordinary.

Be swept away by the first in the romantasy trilogy taking the world by storm!

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
  • ISBN: 9781398529489
  • Number of pages: 528
  • Dimensions: 198 x 130 x 31 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
Powerless
Great book for fans of The Hunger Games and Red Queen!!
I loved this book a lot! It had lots of elements from other books, but it was taken and spun into her own story. I loved the characters and the relationshi... READ MORE
Lucy Jackson
Powerless
Enthralling read.
This was a fantastic SciFi/Fantasy that has taken over my life for the last three days. An exciting, unexpected storyline with a great cast of players with... READ MORE
Patricia Moren
Powerless
Addictive
I adored this novel. It’s an addictive and witty enemies-to-lovers fantasy set in a world in which those with magic powers, the Elites, are convinced that ... READ MORE
Noemi Proietti
Powerless
Fantasy romance novel, mostly very good and certainly engaging.
Paedyn lives in a world where the Elites have powers and those without, the Ordinaries, are hunted down. She survives in the slums but gets involved in the... READ MORE
Minette
Powerless
Love this fantasy romance!!!
This book has elements of hunger games and red queen, as well as a great enemies to lovers trope
Annabella Clayton
Powerless
LOOOVEEE
NEED BOOK 2 I LOVED EVERYONE NEEDS TO READ THIS
Izzie lea
Powerless
ABSOLUTELY DEFINITELY KNEW IT WAS A 5⭐ WITH THE FIRST 4 CHAPTERS
I am obsessed with this book. The characters, the plot, and the writing was absolutely amazing. Tropes -- enemies to lovers and forbidden love If y... READ MORE
Aurora Thorell
Powerless
Great introduction to fantasy for teens!
When I saw the blurb for this book I was so excited to read it, so thank you to Simon and Schuster UK Children's and Netgalley for my wish copy, 3.5/5 ... READ MORE
Sascha09
Powerless
Seated for the rest of the series
“I don’t know that I ever lived before laying eyes on the likes of you.” I've been meaning to read this book for months, even before the Waterstones spe... READ MORE
Milica S.
Powerless
The best book of this year next to fourth wing !
Honestly read this after after fourth wing and girl , goddess , god , it was the best read next to them ! I wish it came as a hardback ! And I can’t wait f... READ MORE
Georgia Carmichael
Powerless
My book of the year
Powerless is a romantasy that follows Paedyn, an Ordinary hiding out in the slums and posing as a psychic (a form of Elite). In a world where Ordinaries ar... READ MORE
library.of.sophie
Powerless
Questionable
How is this an “enemies to lovers” when they are never lovers, like homegirl never kissed him cuz she cockblocked herself after saying he was hot a million... READ MORE
Jemima the one and only
Powerless
The best book I’ve ever read!
It was gripping and you could cut the tension throughout the book like a dagger! Kai and Paedyn are the best main characters you could ask for, the wit, sa... READ MORE
Grace Thomas
Powerless
AMAZING!!
This book is honestly sooooooo good!! It got me back into reading and actually made me realise I enjoy reading. I love how the author describes the setting... READ MORE
BookWormPaige
Powerless
AMAZING BOOK!!!
I LOVE THIS BOOK!!! This is the best book that I’ve ever read!!! I’m so grateful that Lauren Roberts created this masterpiece
Anna Kryvanchyk
Powerless
Literally plagued my mind.
I'm (im)patiently waiting for the trilogy. Amazing book!! hehe :)
Eden Heighway
Powerless
So so
Hype was big so I expected a lot from it. Hanger games meet The X-man. Plot could have been better and so is the twist. Repetition of same events just from... READ MORE
Alena Adartsevich
Powerless
Brilliant!
I was hooked almost immediately.. the chemistry is amazing! The suggestion of more, the action… all of it! Hurry along the second book!
Samantha Cavalier
Powerless
This book gave me the ‘ick.’
The other reviews are indeed correct, this is a complete rip off of ‘The Hunger Games,’ the only thing that’s slightly different is the fantasy/ kingdom se... READ MORE
Natalie M-E
Powerless
Great plot with fantastically written characters but I felt it was dragged.
When I first picked up the book I was hooked, with the writing and the the great pacing at the start. I loved it, especially Paedyn’s introduction. However... READ MORE
Tilly Smith
Powerless
"Vicious little thing..."
This was probably the best book I have read so far this year! I finished it in a week and could not put it down. The world, the characters, the story itsel... READ MORE
Ana Carolina  Ferreira
Powerless
speechless
If you don’t tend to read fantasy get up and get this now. Lauren Roberts has had me staring at the wall for a good 10 minutes
Amelia Wilson