The Wall

The Wall

Fiction, Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror , Science Fiction & Fantasy
Paperback Published on: 07/07/2022
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Bookseller Reviews

View all
The Wall
A forgotten masterpiece
This is a book that I discovered many decades ago, and since then, I must have re-read it about three times. Recently, just re-read it again and decided th... READ MORE
Patti Ho

Synopsis

When her cousin and wife fail to return from a walk, this story takes a sinister turn to a quest of survival

A woman takes a holiday in the Austrian mountains, spending a few days with her cousin and his wife in their hunting lodge. When the couple fails to return from a walk, the woman sets off to look for them. But her journey reaches a sinister and inexplicable dead end. She discovers only a transparent wall behind which there seems to be no life. Trapped alone behind the mysterious wall she begins the arduous work of survival.

This is at once a simple account of potatoes and beans, of hoping for a calf, of counting matches, of forgetting the taste of sugar and the use of one's name, and simultaneously a disturbing dissection of the place of human beings in the natural world.

**PERFECT FOR FANS OF THE YELLOW WALLPAPER, STATION ELEVEN AND THE MARTIAN**

VINTAGE EARTH is a collection of novels to transform our relationship with the natural world. Each one is a work of creative activism, a blast of fresh air, a seed from which change can grow. The books in this series reconnect us to the planet we inhabit - and must protect. Discover great writing on the most urgent story of our times.

  • Publisher: Vintage Publishing
  • ISBN: 9781784878030
  • Number of pages: 256
  • Weight: 184g
  • Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 15 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
The Wall
An impressive female perspective on the End of the World scenario.
Whilst this is a narrative of some length, with only the one human protagonist throughout practically its entirety, I found it continually engaging. The la... READ MORE
Andrew Hammond
The Wall
A forgotten masterpiece
This is a book that I discovered many years ago, and since then, I must have re-read it about three times. Recently, just re-read it again and decided that... READ MORE
Patti Ho