Talking to Terrorists

Talking to Terrorists: How to End Armed Conflicts

History , Politics, Non-Fiction
Paperback Published on: 19/11/2015
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Synopsis

Across the world governments proclaim that they will never ‘negotiate with evil’.

And yet they always have and always will.

From jungle clearings to stately homes and anonymous airport hotels, Talking to Terrorists puts us in the room with the terrorists, secret agents and go-betweens who seek to change the course of history.

Jonathan Powell has spent nearly two decades mediating between governments and terrorist organisations. Drawing on conflicts from Colombia and Sri Lanka to Palestine and South Africa, this optimistic, wide-ranging, authoritative book is about how and why we should talk to terrorists.

‘Essential reading’ Independent

‘Fascinating’ Sunday Times

Now includes a new Afterword - Talking to ISIL

*Perfect for fans of The Looming Tower*

  • Publisher: Vintage Publishing
  • ISBN: 9780099575863
  • Number of pages: 432
  • Weight: 298g
  • Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 26 mm

Customer Reviews