Jaded

Jaded

Fiction, General Fiction
Hardback Published on: 08/02/2024
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Bookseller Reviews

View all
Jaded
One of the best debuts I've read in years
Jade is a lawyer at a Magic Circle firm in London. After a managing partner keeps forcing drinks on her at a work dinner and Jade becomes highly intoxicate... READ MORE
Martha
Jaded
A rollercoaster ride with humour and heart
From the moment I cracked open the pages of 'Jaded,' I was drawn into a world that felt uncomfortably familiar yet startlingly real. Ela Lee fearlessly nav... READ MORE
Thuvaja

Synopsis

'Jade isn't even my real name. Jade began as my Starbucks name, because all children of immigrants have a Starbucks name.'

Jade has become everything she ever wanted to be.

Successful lawyer.
Dutiful daughter.
Beloved girlfriend.
Loyal friend.

Until one night after a work event she suffers an unspeakable attack.

As she tries to confront what happened to her, she finds herself caught between her parents who can’t understand, her boyfriend who feels betrayed, and her job that expects silence. The world Jade has constructed starts to crumble.

This raw, darkly funny novel explores the ‘grey-area’ of consent and recovery that’s far from linear, and will leave you asking yourself: what would you have done in Jade’s situation?

  • Publisher: Vintage Publishing
  • ISBN: 9781787303669
  • Number of pages: 384
  • Weight: 611g
  • Dimensions: 240 x 162 x 35 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
Jaded
A convincing and intelligent novel
Ela Lee is a British-Korean-Turkish writer who studied Law at Oxford and practiced as a City litigation lawyer before writing this her debut novel – and it... READ MORE
Graham Fulcher
Jaded
Important commentary on society
A fantastic book, tackling some very serious and important issues that society all-too-readily accepts or ignores.
Jack Brown
Jaded
Intelligently written, powerful, and thought-provoking
Ela Lee's debut novel, "Jaded," is a poignant exploration of identity, ambition, and the aftermath of a fateful night. The protagonist, Jade, navigates the... READ MORE
Ross OR
Jaded
Highly recommend
Could not put this book down. What an amazing debut novel. Brilliantly written and a story everyone needs to hear.
Andrew Willingham
Jaded
Outstanding debut which spoke to me on many levels
I felt so many emotions reading this one, with an overwhelming feeling of rage on Jade’s behalf!! Ela Lee effortlessly tackles so many complex themes about... READ MORE
Jennifer Li
Jaded
A must read!
"Jaded" is a debut that grips you with its raw emotion and incisive exploration of identity, trauma, and resilience. Ela Lee's adept storytelling plunges y... READ MORE
Rachael Read
Jaded
A beautiful and powerful debut
Jaded is a gorgeous read. It is both thought-provoking and rage-inducing, as it focuses on a number of serious themes and injustices that are unfortunatel... READ MORE
Millie Dawson
Jaded
So powerful
4 - 5 stars rounded up “Jade isn’t my real name, it’s Ceyda but Jade is my Starbucks name because all children of immigrants have them. I work for the p... READ MORE
Celia Short
Jaded
My first five star read of 2024 for this debut novel
Ela Lee is a British author with Korean and Turkish heritage and was a lawyer in the City Of London. Main character and narrator Jade has a Korean mother ... READ MORE
Phil Ramage
Jaded
A must read
What a debut this is - totally extraordinary throughout. Would highly recommend this to lawyers and non-lawyers, it is a fascinating insight into so many ... READ MORE
Kitty Kirton
Jaded
An important read!
Impressive that this was a debut
Angus Heslop
Jaded
Beautifully written and truly thought-provoking.
I couldn’t put this book down once I started. An incredible debut novel - beautifully written, powerfully evocative descriptions of Turkish and Korean cult... READ MORE
Yasmin
Jaded
A debut so good, it actually made me jealous
A new favourite of all time, Jaded tells the story of Jade (or Ceyda) after a night she can’t remember. I’d been pining after a copy of this book ever sinc... READ MORE
Zeynep Kazmaz
Jaded
The most compelling, interesting, and thought-provoking debut i’ve read in a while
This book is for fans of Queenie and I May Destroy You, telling the story of Ceyda, known by her friends and colleagues as Jade, who on the surface has it ... READ MORE
Alexandra Alderson
Jaded
Engaging and thought provoking
Jade is a must-read for those who appreciate novels that tackle serious issues with sensitivity and depth. This debut is a testament to Ela Lee’s talent as... READ MORE
James McArthur
Jaded
THE standout book of the year!
I couldn’t put it down - Ela Lee is an incredibly talented author and this debut novel put me through the emotional wringer. A story with incredibly compel... READ MORE
Katie Power
Jaded
Jealous of anyone who gets to read this book for the first time
I have never written a review for a book before but this book has captured feelings I have always felt throughout my life but never was able to put into wo... READ MORE
Mina Hadid
Jaded
Amazingly shocking
This was a tough but important read. To stand in the shoes of somebody who’s life has been turned upside and to go on that journey with her brought up feel... READ MORE
Katie Harker
Jaded
Great read
Impressive debut from Ela Lee
Simon White
Jaded
Jaded by Ela_Lee
I was intrigued to read this highly recommended book . It would not have been one I would normally pick . The writing was so eloquent and the subject addre... READ MORE
Sally’s reads
Jaded
Beautiful Debut Novel
Jaded is a heartfelt and critical exploration of race, class, and city life. The structure of the novel allows for a weaving exploration into the protagoni... READ MORE
Abigail Reeves
Jaded
YOU MUST READ THIS BOOK!
Absolutely stunning novel from start to finish! Commencing on the night of a work Christmas party, Ela wastes little time in setting up the characters and... READ MORE
Georgios Nicolaides
Jaded
Prepare to feel Jaded
I was sent this proof of Jaded by Ela Lee from Harvill Secker. Reminiscent of the themes explored in other books I’ve loved (including Assembly by Nata... READ MORE
Kay Greef
Jaded
Truly unmissable
A successful lawyer & loving daughter to Korean-Turkish parents, Ceyda (or Jade, as she is now known to her western peers) has successfully crafted a life ... READ MORE
Aimee