The Last Witch of Scotland

The Last Witch of Scotland: A bewitching story based on true events

Fiction, General Fiction
Paperback Published on: 29/02/2024
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Bookseller Reviews

View all
The Last Witch of Scotland
A fascinating, gripping story based on true events.
If you were not already aware of the persecution of so called ‘witches’ in Scotland between the early C16 and mid C18 this is a brilliant starting point. ... READ MORE
Sam at Newton Abbot

Synopsis

Being a woman was her only crime.

Scottish Highlands, 1727.

In the aftermath of a tragic fire that kills her father, Aila and her mother, Janet, move to the remote parish of Loth, north-west of Inverness. Blending in does not come easily to the women: Aila was badly burned in the fire and left with visible injuries, while her mother struggles to maintain her grip on reality. When a temporary minister is appointed in the area, rather than welcome the two women, he develops a strange curiosity for them that sets them even further apart from the community.

Then arrives a motley troupe of travelling entertainers from Edinburgh, led by the charismatic but mysterious Jack. It is just the distraction Janet, and particularly Aila, needs: for the first time in a long while, their lives are filling with joy and friendship, and a kind of hope Aila hasn't known since her father's death. But in this small community, faith is more powerful than truth, and whispers more dangerous even than fire.

Haunting and deeply moving, The Last Witch of Scotland is a story of love, loyalty and sacrifice, inspired by the true story of the last person to be executed for witchcraft in Britain.

Perfect for fans of Outlander, The Mercies and The Witches of Vardo, or for anyone with an interest in the history of witchcraft, late renaissance Scotland and Highland history.

  • Publisher: Bonnier Books Ltd
  • ISBN: 9781785305245
  • Number of pages: 352
  • Weight: 245g
  • Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 21 mm

Customer Reviews