The Horizon

The Horizon

Fiction, General Fiction
Paperback Published on: 02/02/2006
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Synopsis

This engrossing and edge-of-your-seat saga from multi-million copy bestselling author Douglas Reeman is perfect for fans of Clive Cussler, Bernard Cornwell and Wilbur Smith. The third novel in the Blackwood saga, spanning 150 years in the history of a great seafaring family, this captivating naval adventure at its very best!

'One of our foremost writers of naval fiction' -- Sunday Times
'Mr Reeman writes with great knowledge about the sea and those who sail on it' --The Times
'Another romping good yarn by my favourite author' -- ***** Reader review
'A real page-turner' -- ***** Reader review
'Magnificent!' -- ***** Reader review
'I was engrossed from start to finish' -- ***** Reader review
'Had me hooked' -- ***** Reader review
******************************************************************************
1914-1918: for three generations, members of the Blackwood family have served the Royal Marines with distinction. With the outbreak of World War I, at last comes Jonathan Blackwood's turn to carry the family name into battle.

But as the young marines embark for the Dardanelles, and a new kind of warfare, it dawns on them that the days of scarlet coats and an unchanging tradition of honour and glory have gone forever. First in Gallipoli, and two years later at Flanders, comes their horrifying initiation into a wholesale slaughter for which no training could ever have prepared them.

Caught up in the savagery of a conflict beyond any officer's control, Blackwood's future rests on the 'horizon' - the dark lip of the trench which was the last fateful sight for so many.

  • Publisher: Cornerstone
  • ISBN: 9780099484431
  • Number of pages: 432
  • Weight: 229g
  • Dimensions: 178 x 110 x 26 mm

Customer Reviews