• Hercules: the Diary of a (Sort of) Hero
  • Hercules: the Diary of a (Sort of) Hero
  • Hercules: the Diary of a (Sort of) Hero
  • Hercules: the Diary of a (Sort of) Hero
  • Hercules: the Diary of a (Sort of) Hero
  • Hercules: the Diary of a (Sort of) Hero
  • Hercules: the Diary of a (Sort of) Hero
  • Hercules: the Diary of a (Sort of) Hero
  • Hercules: the Diary of a (Sort of) Hero
  • Hercules: the Diary of a (Sort of) Hero
  • Hercules: the Diary of a (Sort of) Hero
  • Hercules: the Diary of a (Sort of) Hero

Hercules: the Diary of a (Sort of) Hero

Ages 9-12, 9-12 Fiction
Paperback Published on: 29/02/2024
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Bookseller Reviews

View all
Hercules: the Diary of a (Sort of) Hero
Kalamata!
A fun story with a great message, about how being popular and cool isn’t everything, especially when it means loosing people you care about. Lots of funny ... READ MORE
Beth
Hercules: the Diary of a (Sort of) Hero
Hilarious
This book made me laugh out loud multiple times. It's perfect for fans of Wimpy Kid, Tom Gates and Katie Kirby. The diary format keeps the pace moving and ... READ MORE
Sarah in Wolverhampton
Hercules: the Diary of a (Sort of) Hero
Silly, funny with a great heart
Hercules is happy with his life but maybe he doesn’t realise it. He is going to secondary school with his two best friends and he is obsessed with becoming... READ MORE
Eilish from Rustington
Hercules: the Diary of a (Sort of) Hero
Accessible, warm, funny
Hercules is changing to secondary school, and he starts the term with a plan to make millions of new friends -only it all starts badly and he brings attent... READ MORE
Fleur (Children's bookseller Bath)
Hercules: the Diary of a (Sort of) Hero
Perfect for fans of Wimpy Kid and Loki
Written in a diary format, my 8yr old says it's great. It's easier to digest in diary sized chunks and he likes to read 1 or 2 per night. The only problem ... READ MORE
Krissy
Hercules: the Diary of a (Sort of) Hero
There’s more important things than being cool
Fast paced, fun ride with Hercules through the trials of starting high school. Laugh out loud funny alongside a lesson in the value of true friendship over... READ MORE
Rebecca

Synopsis

If Hercules Braver is going to survive his new secondary school,he has to live up to his name, fast. He needs to become strong and tanned and popular, like a Greek hero. Not weak and pale and unpopular, like a Greek yoghurt.

But his bid for popularity ends up saddling him with a set of impossible tasks... like cleaning out the monster-riddled school pond, facing up to the school bully and finding the headmaster's missing cat.

Then Herc's charming, impressive birth dad turns up after years living in Greece, and Hercules thinks his problems are solved. With God-like strength and awe-inspiring powers, could his dad even
be ... the real Zeus?! And will Hercules learn what it truly means to be a hero?

A hilarious, accessible package brilliantly illustrated by David O'Connell. Ideal for fans of Louie Stowell's Loki, Maz Evans, Marvel's Thor films and Disney's Hercules. Hercules Braver's 'trials' are loosely based on the first three Labours of Hercules, ideal for all young fans of Greek mythology!

Warm-hearted representation of blended families and alternate father figures.

  • Publisher: Scholastic
  • ISBN: 9780702324635
  • Number of pages: 288
  • Weight: 190g
  • Dimensions: 197 x 151 x 19 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
Hercules: the Diary of a (Sort of) Hero
Funny diary style tale of Hercules Braver, an uncool kid who wishes to be cool....perhaps he wishes a bit too hard.
Thanks to Kiran at Scholastic for this early copy. Hercules Braver is about to start High School with his friends Hatty and Pav, but they were the uncool... READ MORE
T Lander
Hercules: the Diary of a (Sort of) Hero
Thunder-bolts of fun!
Out February 29th, 'Hercules: The Diary of a (Sort Of) Hero' is thunder-bolts of fun with a cracking message about shattering the myth of the God-like male... READ MORE
Chris Soul UK
Hercules: the Diary of a (Sort of) Hero
Brilliantly funny!
Greek myths are as popular as they ever were, and although my knowledge and understanding of them has increased over the years there was nothing like the r... READ MORE
Jacqui  Sydney