• Greta and Valdin
  • Greta and Valdin
  • Greta and Valdin
  • Greta and Valdin
  • Greta and Valdin
  • Greta and Valdin
  • Greta and Valdin
  • Greta and Valdin

Greta and Valdin

Fiction, General Fiction
Hardback Published on: 08/02/2024
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Bookseller Reviews

View all
Greta and Valdin
Endlessly quotable fun with a brilliant and joyous queer narrative
This book is just so much fun. It’s laugh-out-loud funny, endlessly quotable, and has a brilliant and joyous queer narrative. ‘Greta and Valdin’ follows th... READ MORE
Tilly at Croydon
Greta and Valdin
A warm and funny debut with a great cast of characters
Greta and Valdin Vladislavljevic are cohabiting siblings living in Auckland. Part of a very close-knit Māori-Russian-Catonian family, they are both unlucky... READ MORE
Martha
Greta and Valdin
Reilly's debut is the queer narrative of your dreams.
Witty and emotional, Reilly's debut is the queer narrative of your dreams. Reilly immediately catapulted themselves as an instant buy author with this. Gr... READ MORE
Hannah@Leeds
Greta and Valdin
Oh to be at one of this family’s parties!
Many thanks @penguinhuddlebooks for my proof copy of Greta & Valdin, which suddenly moved up the TBR and bypassed spooky October reads totally! This is ... READ MORE
Beth at Chesterfield
Greta and Valdin
Welcome to the family
I think Greta and Valdin is going to be a personal favourite of the year! I loved the whole Vladisavljevic clan. I want them to adopt me. I don’t have ... READ MORE
Lauren
Greta and Valdin
Loved this!
I loved this book so, so much. It's unique, and charming and funny, and I genuinely just want to live inside these pages. The characters are instantly lova... READ MORE
Helen at Scarborough
Greta and Valdin
Like being with friends
Reading Greta & Valdin felt like being with friends: it was such a pleasure being part of their sometimes hilarious and interesting lives and family. The h... READ MORE
Alice at Head Office
Greta and Valdin
Joyous, witty and engaging!
So pleased I picked this off my TBR pile. Glorifies the imperfections, madness and love in modern extended family life. It is well written, engaging book a... READ MORE
James at Chiswick
Greta and Valdin
Hilarious from start to finish!
I don’t think I have EVER laughed so much whilst reading than I did with this book. Whilst my five star ratings usually tend to go to books that make me ug... READ MORE
Tilly Fitzgerald
Greta and Valdin
Highlight of 2024. Hilarious & Heartwarming Debut.
One of my favorite things I've read this year so far. I finished 'Greta & Valdin' last night and I would love to be adopted by the Vladisavlijevic family.... READ MORE
Jamie Lee at Trafford Centre
Greta and Valdin
I am not the target audience for this book
I have to admit I am not the target audience for this book. I did love the writing, the actual prose is extremely readbable. The switch between Greta and h... READ MORE
Bluehairedbookseller
Greta and Valdin
Perfect for fans of Schitt’s Creek!
I devoured this book in a day! We follow Greta and Valdin as they navigate their 20’s through friendships, work & romance. I loved the way this book was ... READ MORE
Lydia at Trafford Centre
Greta and Valdin
An utter joy to read!
Very gay. Very fun. Very joyful. I absolutely loved ‘Greta and Valdin’!!! The characters are loveable and relatable, there are many moments that are genuin... READ MORE
Luna
Greta and Valdin
Funny, tender and fresh
Introducing the most quotable book you'll ever meet - this was made for tabbing! Greta & Valdin had me in stitches and every page gave me a line so perfect... READ MORE
Emma Smith at Bedford
Greta and Valdin
Fabulously fun and utterly joyous
I just adored this book! In Rebecca K. Reilly's debut, we follow the titular siblings as they attempt to navigate queerness, love, their multi-racial ident... READ MORE
Emily at Waterstones Exeter
Greta and Valdin
The summer book of your dreams
Full of beautiful and poetic prose this is such a perfect summer read. With some quotes and passages that have stayed with me in the months since I've read... READ MORE
Libby Low
Greta and Valdin
Greta & Valdin are the multiracial David and Alexis (à la Schitt's Creek) that I didn't know I needed.
Greta & Valdin are the multiracial David and Alexis (à la Schitt's Creek) that I didn't know I needed. This debut is brimming with cultural and ethnic dive... READ MORE
Bree M (@bookshopbree)
Greta and Valdin
Hilarious and touching
Greta & Valdin is a hilarious but sentimentally touching character driven story focused around two queer siblings and their Mãori-Russian-Catalonion family... READ MORE
Victoria at Aviemore

Synopsis

Siblings Greta and Valdin have, perhaps, too much in common. They're flatmates, beholden to the same near-unpronounceable surname, and both make questionable choices when it comes to love.

Valdin is in love with his ex-boyfriend Xabi, who left the country because he thought he was making Valdin sad. Greta is in love with fellow English tutor Holly, who appears to be using her for admin support. But perhaps all is not lost. Valdin is coming to realize that he might not be so unlovable, and Greta, that she might be worth more than the papers she can mark.

Helping the siblings navigate queerness, multiracial identity, and the tendency of their love interests to flee, is the Vladisavljevic family: Maori-Russian-Catalonian, and as passionate as they are eccentric.

Rebecca K. Reilly's exploration of love, family, karaoke, and the generational reverberations of colonialism will make you laugh, cry, and fall for the whole Vladisavljevic bunch.

  • Publisher: Cornerstone
  • ISBN: 9781529154191
  • Number of pages: 336
  • Weight: 437g
  • Dimensions: 224 x 145 x 32 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
Greta and Valdin
A clever and funny debut..
This is a unique, funny and slightly off the charts story. It will be difficult to write a review that does it justice. The story is about Greta and Val... READ MORE
Emine at Bromley
Greta and Valdin
Lovely
For some reason when I requested this book I got the impression it was going to be wildly pretentious. It wasn't at all - it was really easy to become quic... READ MORE
Laura O'Malley
Greta and Valdin
Funny and relatable!
Greta & Valdin is a humorous, entertaining novel about two siblings: Greta and, you guessed it, Valdin. The novel follows them as they attempt to navigate ... READ MORE
Laura Nazmdeh
Greta and Valdin
Good read
Usually in a book that starts with a family tree I'm tempted to put it in the " not read" pile, but I persevered with this one, I found it laugh out loud... READ MORE
jean
Greta and Valdin
Good Debut
Thank you to the publishers for this review copy. I have seen so many great reviews about this and so many people saying how hilarious it is... My verdic... READ MORE
Fiona Sharp
Greta and Valdin
Novel set in AUCKLAND
Greta and Valdin is set in New Zealand’s multicultural capital, Auckland. It centres on three generations of one extended family. The narrators are Greta, ... READ MORE
TripFiction