Damascus Station

Damascus Station

Fiction, General Fiction
Paperback Published on: 26/01/2023
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Bookseller Reviews

View all
Damascus Station
A modern twist on a classic genre
An extraordinarily good spy thriller and a thought-provoking insight into modern intelligence tactics. I haven't been so pleasantly surprised and utterly g... READ MORE
Catriona at Waterstones Online
Damascus Station
Terrifying and action packed
A definite case of a book of two halves. For this reader, the first half was slow, though I found the scene setting and painstaking spycraft detail fascin... READ MORE
Sean Farrell
Damascus Station
James Bond/Dan Brown Mash Up
James Bond meets Dan Brown in Syria. I really struggled with this. I could have done with a small glossary/introduction on the situation in Syria before ... READ MORE
Katy Wheatley

Synopsis

A CIA officer and his recruit arrive in Damascus to hunt for a killer.

CIA case officer Sam Joseph is dispatched to Paris to recruit Syrian Palace official Mariam Haddad. The two fall into a forbidden relationship, which supercharges Haddad's recruitment and creates unspeakable danger when they enter Damascus to find the man responsible for the disappearance of an American spy.

But the cat and mouse chase for the killer soon leads to a trail of high-profile assassinations and the discovery of a dark secret at the heart of the Syrian regime, bringing the pair under the all-seeing eyes of Assad's spy catcher, Ali Hassan, and his brother Rustum, the head of the feared Republican Guard.

Set against the backdrop of a Syria pulsing with fear and rebellion, Damascus Station is a gripping thriller that offers a textured portrayal of espionage, love, loyalty, and betrayal in one of the most difficult CIA assignments on the planet.

  • Publisher: Swift Press
  • ISBN: 9781800752696
  • Number of pages: 432
  • Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
Damascus Station
A very gritty spy thriller
Damascus Station is a very gritty spy thriller. It really got under my skin and I felt emotionally involved with the two main characters Sam Joseph and Mar... READ MORE
the moving finger writes
Damascus Station
CIA Station in Damascus gains a spy but who is safe?
Sam Joseph is a CIA officer who recruits Mariam but he defies the rules by falling love. They are in extreme danger and under constant stress. Life is che... READ MORE
Julie Friar
Damascus Station
Great Read!
Thank you to the publishers for this review copy. This is a good debut, that would appeal to fans of Charles Cumming and John le Carre. A modern day spy no... READ MORE
Fiona Sharp
Damascus Station
Up there with the best spy thrillers.
Great book. I've read a couple of books about espionage in Syria, and always been disappointed. This book was excellent and given the author's career, I ... READ MORE
Nick Farnsworth
Damascus Station
Atmospheric
Took me a couple of chapters to get into this as it introduced the characters and the background. Once I had the angle on each character I got further and ... READ MORE
Paul Vaughan
Damascus Station
Gripping and believable
This spy thriller is made all the more believable for being set in Syria during the current civil war, following the Arab Spring, and provides an eerily vi... READ MORE
Nick A
Damascus Station
Abandoned!
I never abandon a book, but after slogging it out and wasting three weeks on this one, I had no choice. Tedious, boring drivel. I recommend it is avoided. ... READ MORE
Michael