Collected Poems

Collected Poems

Paperback Published on: 19/08/2002
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop


This comprehensive volume contains all Sylvia Plath's mature poetry written from 1956 up to her death in 1963. The poems are drawn from the only collection Plath published while alive, The Colossus, as well as from posthumous collections Ariel, Crossing the Water and Winter Trees. The text is preceded by an introduction by Ted Hughes and followed by notes and comments on individual poems. There is also an appendix containing fifty poems from Sylvia Plath's juvenilia. This collection was awarded the 1981 Pulitzer Prize for poetry. 'For me, the most important literary event of 1981 has been the publication, eighteen years after her death, of Sylvia Plath's Collected Poems, confirming her as one of the most powerful and lavishly gifted poets of our time.' A. Alvarez in the Observer

  • Publisher: Faber & Faber
  • ISBN: 9780571118380
  • Number of pages: 352
  • Weight: 455g
  • Dimensions: 215 x 140 x 25 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
Collected Poems
Sylvia Plath. Collected Poems.
An extraordinary collection which adds immeasurably to what we knew of Plath's poetry from her two earlier volumes Colossus and Ariel. Her unmistakable vo... READ MORE
Nick Perry