• Alex vs Axel: The Impossible Quests
  • Alex vs Axel: The Impossible Quests
  • Alex vs Axel: The Impossible Quests
  • Alex vs Axel: The Impossible Quests

Alex vs Axel: The Impossible Quests: Exclusive Edition

Ages 9-12, 9-12 Fiction
Paperback Published on: 02/05/2024
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Bookseller Reviews

View all
Alex vs Axel: The Impossible Quests
“Two realms are crossed, two quests unfurled. Defeat the father, save the world.”
This pleased my little Children’s Bookseller’s heart! There’s magic and hilarity and chaos…so much chaos… I loved how the adventures (sorry, quests)... READ MORE
V
Alex vs Axel: The Impossible Quests
Funny and powerful
I don’t always expect too much from children’s books as I’m not exactly the target audience, but I absolutely LOVED ‘Alex vs Axel’! This book is dual p... READ MORE
Megan at Preston
Alex vs Axel: The Impossible Quests
A fast paced, laugh out loud adventure!
An absolutely brilliant book! I loved every second of it! Filled with humour, a fantastic premise, and a brilliant lesson that there is a hero in everyone.... READ MORE
Beth
Alex vs Axel: The Impossible Quests
Comedy with Lots of Heart!
Alex vs Axel is a hilarious 'fish out of water' adventure. Two boys, two worlds, two quests. Can the brawn use his brain to save the day? Will the brain be... READ MORE
Emma Pullar
Alex vs Axel: The Impossible Quests
Enjoyable and at times laugh out loud.
Alex Vs Axel has one of the best dogs ever. It also handles a split narrative really well, and pulls the reader along in a high stakes narrative. Alex, ord... READ MORE
Fleur (Children's bookseller Bath)
Alex vs Axel: The Impossible Quests
Funny, heroic adventure
Alex vs Axel isn’t the typical genre I read but my mind immediately changed after the first page. There’s something in this amazing adventure for everyone.... READ MORE
Heather at Oxford
Alex vs Axel: The Impossible Quests
Just brilliant and so funny!
A fantastic new magical, adventure series- very funny and reads like a movie. I loved it! Good for fans of Loxi, Land of Roar, Wimpy Kid and Walliams. A... READ MORE
Amanda- Cheltenham
Alex vs Axel: The Impossible Quests
Impossible to put down!
Freaky Friday Cosy Fantasy Body Swap story involving COSMIC TWINS who could resist?? This book is so much fun. It made me laugh, I loved the magic world... READ MORE
Kathrin Shawcross
Alex vs Axel: The Impossible Quests
Laugh out loud funny!
A truly enjoyable kids book! Great pacing, jumping between Alex and Axel who’ve swapped lives. Really funny while also addressing themes of family and frie... READ MORE
Rebecca

Synopsis

The hilarious new fantasy adventure from the author of Charlie Changes Into a Chicken.

Alex is a normal, everyday kid, living in a normal, everyday city. Axel is a monster-slaying hero, living in a world of magic. Unfortunately, when the two boys mysteriously swap places, each of them ends up being mistaken for the other.

With zero experience of heroism, Alex is thrust into an epic quest to defeat the evil Felonius Gloam, who has stolen the Book of Lifetales and is using it to unravel the very fabric of the world of Aërth.

Meanwhile, Axel is faced with double maths, a gran who's six months behind on the rent, and a crucial chess tournament he's got to win – when he doesn't even know how to play.

Can the two boys complete their Impossible Quests and find a way back to their own lives, or will they both discover they don't have a life to come back to?

  • Publisher: Penguin Random House Children's UK
  • ISBN: 9780241724217
  • Number of pages: 384
  • Weight: 500g
  • Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 35 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
Alex vs Axel: The Impossible Quests
Funny yet thought provoking
A light hearted story with lots of witty humour, but also focusing on relevant modern day issues and themes. If you like Loki you'll like this!
A Hayes
Alex vs Axel: The Impossible Quests
Bought this on the advice of the cashier when buying my son a new book for a camping trip.
Son (9) absolutely loved this book and is hoping for more of the same was finished with a couple of days
collette barlow