A Man Called Ove

A Man Called Ove

Fiction, General Fiction
Paperback Published on: 07/05/2015
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Make and edit your lists in your account
Check click & collect stock near you
Collect today: Pay in shop

Bookseller Reviews

View all
A Man Called Ove
Wonderful!
I laughed and I am wiping away tears as I finish - Ove is one of the greatest characters I have ever encountered. He is so stoic and has such dignity, this... READ MORE
Chrys - Plymouth
A Man Called Ove
Full of heart and humour!
I loved the circular structure of the novel, and there were lots of fun little twists that kept me on my toes. Although very funny, it is the emotion that ... READ MORE
Emer Walsh

Synopsis

The million-copy bestselling phenomenon, Fredrik Backman's heartwarming debut is a funny, moving, uplifting tale of love and community that will leave you with a spring in your step. Perfect for fans of Rachel Joyce's The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, Graeme Simsion's The Rosie Project and David Nicholl's Us. At first sight, Ove is almost certainly the grumpiest man you will ever meet. He thinks himself surrounded by idiots - neighbours who can't reverse a trailer properly, joggers, shop assistants who talk in code, and the perpetrators of the vicious coup d'etat that ousted him as Chairman of the Residents' Association. He will persist in making his daily inspection rounds of the local streets. But isn't it rare, these days, to find such old-fashioned clarity of belief and deed? Such unswerving conviction about what the world should be, and a lifelong dedication to making it just so? In the end, you will see, there is something about Ove that is quite irresistible...

  • Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
  • ISBN: 9781444775815
  • Number of pages: 320
  • Weight: 220g
  • Dimensions: 196 x 126 x 30 mm

Customer Reviews

View all
A Man Called Ove
A very funny and deeply loving read about a not average grumpy old man
Once in a while a book comes around that is so beautifully crafted that you read every sentence as carefully as possible so you can relish each word within... READ MORE
Page to Stage Reviews (Zarina)
A Man Called Ove
Will make you laugh and cry
Meet Ove a middle aged grumpy man who hates men in white shirts,people who don't park in the correct place and don't drive a Saab ! Behind all this grumpy... READ MORE
Karen Coley
A Man Called Ove
A great book for reading groups
Everyone in the group enjoyed A Man Called Ove, men and women alike. There's humour and pathos with well drawn characters who feel very human. You will s... READ MORE
Susan Arnold
A Man Called Ove
I laughed and I cried and I didn’t want it to end
Aah Ove, there is nothing to say except I love Ove and I loved every word of this book. Funny, sad and endearing, I laughed and I cried and I didn’t want ... READ MORE
Lynda Deutrom
A Man Called Ove
A truly hilarious, sad, and completely moving book!
I'm not going to lie it took me a while to get into this book but boy I am so glad I didn't give up on it, what a charming read this was. If anything I ... READ MORE
rhythmpantherxo
A Man Called Ove
Why I enjoyed A Man called Ove
This book was both amusing and sometimes very sad. I thoroughly enjoyed it
Christine Wilson
A Man Called Ove
It made me laugh and cry, sometimes on the same page
It's a beautiful book. A comedic story about grief and loss, and friendship. I could be laughing and crying on the same page. There were moments that were ... READ MORE
Bethan
A Man Called Ove
Hilarious
A Man Called Ove is laugh-out-loud funny. "DROORING" and "OVE HIT THE CLAUUUUUWN" keep popping into my head, days after I finished the book, and never fail... READ MORE
Anna
A Man Called Ove
There's a special place for OVE in my heart ...
This is the second time I've read "A Man Called Ove". I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this book! How could you not love Ove? It's true that he's grumpy, rude, and somet... READ MORE
Fanny Koeswanto
A Man Called Ove
Moving - in a good way
I bought this on the recommendation of a friend and thoroughly enjoyed every word. Uplifting, life affirming, it moved me to both laughter and tears. Recom... READ MORE
Susan Black
A Man Called Ove
Likeable but lukewarm
Ove is a wonderful creation and there is much to treasure in this beautifully observed love story. Some of the descriptions of the relationship between Ov... READ MORE
Ian C
A Man Called Ove
Funny and Moving
This book is funny and extremely relatable from the outset. I think everybody knows an 'Ove' in their life, and this book gives a real insight and understa... READ MORE
Vicki Hesketh
A Man Called Ove
Good old (ove) grumpy fun !
Brilliant, sad, funny very entertaining. Brightened up a very,very,very, dull January. Have a tissue ready or even a box of them. Enjoy
A Harris
A Man Called Ove
A Must Read Book
I loved this book. In it we meet Sweden’s answer to Victor Meldrew. Ove is a grumpy old man but there’s also a kindness that keeps trying to shine through.... READ MORE
Gillian Frost
A Man Called Ove
I think I know him...
I loved this book. I know so many men with one or two of Ove's traits and one who could have been the inspiration for the character. Though he comes from... READ MORE
Alexandra Vignes
A Man Called Ove
I love Ove and a love this book!
Just read it, you will not regret it. It is truly lovely.
Chloë Simpson
A Man Called Ove
The most beautiful portrayal of love, and life, I think I have ever read
‘But if anyone had asked, he would have told them that he never lived before he met her. And not after, either’. This is the most beautiful telling of the... READ MORE
Helen Walker
A Man Called Ove
My favourite book of all time!
An emotional roller-coaster of a story. You will have tears in your eyes. Sometimes from laughter, sometimes from sadness. I've read this one so many times... READ MORE
Natalia
A Man Called Ove
I wish I had more stars.
This book made me thankful, joyful, hopeful and sad. I wanted Ove to be a real man that I could meet and learn from. You first think of him as the annoying... READ MORE
Sam Rigby
A Man Called Ove
Brilliant
A brilliant book I really loved reading this and I've recommended it to many friends already. An engaging story.
Lara Carter
A Man Called Ove
Brilliant.
Completed on 16/11/23. A great read. Having seen the film first, I wasn't disappointed with the book. A love story with plenty of laughs. The character Ov... READ MORE
James Nixon
A Man Called Ove
Not my cup of tea
This is what I'd describe as one of those quite 'trendy' and 'quirky' books that alot of people seem to be writing and enjoying at the moment, where the ma... READ MORE
Aline Taylor
A Man Called Ove
How did the characters turn 3D?! Wow!
I really enjoyed it; it is depicted so believable it can very well be an autobiography of a man called Ove. Eccentric and heart wrenching too.
Sustainable_reader on bookstagram
A Man Called Ove
A Man called Ove by Fredrik Backman
I saw the film recently, but had not read the book. Came home and ordered the book from Waterstones. What a beautiful well written book. An author that I h... READ MORE
Jane Maggs
A Man Called Ove
Oh, Ove
Smaller in scale than his other novels I've read, this still manages to explore the delicate workings of the human experience. I adored pretty much everyo... READ MORE
Alex Mills
A Man Called Ove
Book that inspired the film with Tom Hanks……
I watched the film that this book inspired, prompted by the film to read the original book. I would say not an easy read…..eg the mood and attitude of the ... READ MORE
Sybylla
A Man Called Ove
A Man Called Ove
⭐️ 5 ⭐️ I’m embarrassingly late to the party reading A Man Called Ove so there’s not a lot I can say that hasn’t been already been said countless times. ... READ MORE
Dee
A Man Called Ove
I cried, a lot
This book broke me like the first ten minutes of the film Up. I cried, a lot. It was a wonderful book but I found it too sad to be uplifting in any way.
kendrafortune